Hosein Foroutan
Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Affiliate Faculty, The Global Change Center at Virginia Tech

Office: 417 Durham Hall
Email: hosein@vt.edu
Phone: (540) 231-1376

Department Webpage
Google Scholar Profile


Charbel Harb
Ph.D. Student
Email: charbel@vt.edu

Charbel joined AIRFlowS in 2018 as a Ph.D. student, after earning a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the Lebanese American University. His research aims to improve understanding and characterization of aerosols emissions from aquatic environments.


Xinyue Huang
Ph.D. Student
Email: xinyueh@vt.edu

Xinyue joined AIRFlowS Lab in 2019. She has a B.S. in Environmental Engineering from Tsinghua University and a M.S. in Chemical and Environmental Engineering from Yale University. Her research interest is to simulate the fate and transport of substances in the environment with numerical models. She is working to develop an improved wind-blown dust emission scheme.


Manu Nimmala
Ph.D. Student (Co-advised with Dr. Shane Ross, AOE) 
Email: nimmala@vt.edu

Manu joined AIRFlowS and the Ross Dynamics Lab in 2019 as a Ph.D. student, after earning a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Case Western Reserve University. Her research is on fine-scale modeling of pollen transport from genetically-engineered crops.


Rayssa Brandao
M.S. Student 
Email: rayssa@vt.edu

Rayssa joined AIRFlowS Lab in 2019. She has a B.S. in Environmental Engineering from University of Brasilia, and her research interest is to better understand and characterize emission sources and improve air pollution modeling in Brazil, as well as in the United States.


Nora AlAmiri
B.S. Student 
Email: nora99@vt.edu

Nora joined AIRFlowS Lab in 2020. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering while minoring in Green Engineering. Her research interest is to improve understanding of the aerosolization from aquatic environments.